b i l l    b o r i s

Bill Boris (Guitars) -- attended Berklee College of Music and graduated from Notre Dame University. Bill released his debut CD "Hold Back" in 1999. He has recorded or performed with Charles Earland, David "Fathead" Newman, Arthur Prysock, Tony Monaco, Irene Reid, Eric Alexander, Fred Weslay, Oscar Seaton, Lisa Ono and Robert Irving III. As a member of the "Mike Frost Project", Bill was the guitarist on "Comin' Straight At You" which was nominated for a Grammy in 2007. He has performed at the South Shore Jazz Festival in Chicago, the Kaunas Jazz Festival in Lithuania, the Barbados Jazz Festival and the Szczecin Jazz Festival in Poland. He has also played at the Jazz Showcase and Green Mill in Chicago and Catalina's in Los Angeles.

In the rock and pop world, he has worked as sideman with Bo Diddley, Little Anthony, Ben E. King, the Fifth Dimension, Spencer Davis, Mary Wells, Dee Clark, Del Shannon, Ima Sumac, Leslie Gore, the Shirelles and the Drifters. Bill was the musical director for Beehive, a musical review about the 60's which played in Chicago, Miami, the East Coast and toured Japan. Bill's compositions are licensed by Getty Images and have played on MTV in the United States and China. He has also done session work on jingles, music for television and recording projects for various artists.

Bill is the acting Fretboard Coordinator at Columbia College in Chicago where he has been an instructor and ensemble director since 2001. He is the director for the Pop Rock Ensemble, the Fusion Ensemble and several jazz combos. His ensembles have performed with Joan Osborn, Peter Erskine, Fred Wesley, Bob Mintzer, Charlie Sexton and Ivan Neville. In 2009, Bill was a guest instructor at Popakademie in Mannheim, Germany.

Beezwax Records is proud to offer this fine recording with our unique packaging style, one of a kind, one at a time.

CD cover, Hold Back

BILL BORIS, "Hold Back"
Personnel: Bill Boris (guitar, percussion programming), Rafe Bradford (bass, additional drum programming), Robert Irving III (keyboards), Walter Henderson (trumpet), Oscar Seaton (drums), Jim Hines (drums, percussion)

Track 1: Hold Back
Track 2: Tears in Heaven
Track 3: 1132 Grace
Track 4: Luther
Track 5: Cayenne
Track 6: The Sunset
Track 7: Catalina
Track 8: Mood Swings
Track 9: Anastasia
Track 10: True Romance

$14.99 EA


All Beezwax CDs are . . .


Date Stamped



Hand Assembled


home | catalog | explore  | links